us on Twitter for updates as they happen and sarcastic commentary.
us on Facebook for updates in your feed, special offers, and more.
if you're one of "those" people.
our mailing list. It's so wizard.

Bassnectar AKA Lorin Ashton, comes to us with the first single, “You & Me”, an arpeggiated ballad featuring vocals from W Darling which appears on his forthcoming album Noise Vs. Beauty, which drops June 24. Dubbed the most inventive electronic artist since Aphex Twin by NPR, Bassnectar has criss-crossed the world selling out huge venues and donating hundred of thousands of dollars with his Dollar Per Basshead Program, but took an extended break to complete the album. “I took an unprecedented 6 months off the road (the first time since I started touring in the late 90s) and dove deep into the creative process. I unplugged from social networking and didn’t listen to any music: I just created. For the first time I feel completely content with what I have created, and authentically detached from the preferences of others; I made the music I wanted to make and I love it,” says Bassnectar. “Each of the 15 songs represents a specific point along that spectrum with some songs that sound like pure freakout-noise, some that sound beautiful and touching, and some that are combinations,” he adds. ” I experimented with new approaches (like writing a song with no bass and no beats) and even did multiple-phase remixing where I would take an idea and strip it down to only basic piano and guitar and then work with various singer-songwriters or musicians to craft different variations. Some of these songs sounded like indie rock or like film scores. But then I would go back remix them again, sampling them and adding electronic enhancement and effects. The result is my most musical album to date, and definitely my favorite.”

Last week, he teased his collaboration with Baltimore MC Rye Rye, “Now”, which is a frenzy of electro synths, flowing rhymes, and 808s. Also joining Lorin on Noise Vs. Beauty is a diverse range of artists including Fashawn, Zion I, TURSI, Donnis, Jenna Sousa, Simon Morel, BEGINNERS and Lafa Taylor. The album is available now for iTunes preorder, and buyers will get “You & Me” and “Now” instantly when they order.

1. Bassnectar & Seth Drake – F.U.N.
2. Now ft. Rye Rye
3. Loco Ono
4. You & Me ft. W. Darling
5. Bassnectar & Jantsen – Lost in the Crowd ft. Fashawn & Zion I
6. Ephemeral
7. Hold On ft. TURSI
8. Noise ft. Donnis
9. The Future ft. Jenna Sousa
10. Open Up ft. Simon Morel
11. Bassnectar & Amp Live – Mystery Song ft. BEGINNERS
12. Don’t Hate The 808 ft. Lafa Taylor
13. Bassnectar & The Upbeats – Gnar
14. Flash Back
15. So Butterfly (2014 Version)

Search WeAllHitPlay
Recently Commented On